2013 WSOP Satellites at the Rio

Poker’s biggest spectacle is fast approaching with the poker world geared up to see who will come out on top and win the much desired WSOP gold bracelet.

Different avenues of qualifications have been created to allow poker players, who aren’t fortunate enough to afford the buy-in rates, to still be able to qualify for this year’s events. Potentially the best, and cheapest, way to qualify is through the Satellites and this year’s satellite matches will take place at the Rio during the summer.

Qualifications to all 62 gold bracelet events can be gained through this summer’s satellites which will run daily, giving players more opportunities to qualify to the WSOP events. Commencing on May 29th 2013 and holding its last event on July 8th, it’s been confirmed that the satellite events will be held inside the luxurious Pavilion Ballroom in the Rio.

Varying in both event type and price, with the lowest buy-in at a respectable $75, there is sure to be a satellite event for all poker enthusiasts. Mega satellites, turbo satellites and single-table satellites will all be on the list of match types available to play.

Mega Satellites – commence on May 29th and end on July 4th. The $330 buy-in will run daily at 4.pm (local time) whereas the $550 buy-in will begin at 8.pm (local time). The majority of these satellites will be full-ring no-limit Hold’em, however a selection of the 8.pm starts will be presented in chronological formats of:

  • Seven-Card Stud Hi-Low Split
  • Heads-Up No-Limit Hold’em
  • Pot-Limit Hold’em
  • Omaha Hi-Low Split
  • H.O.R.S.E
  • Six-Handed No-Limit Hold’em
  • Limit Hold’em
  • Six-Handed Pot-Limit Omaha
  • 2-7 Draw Lowball (No Limit)
  • Six-Handed No-Limit Hold’em
  • Pot-Limit Omaha

Turbo Mega Satellites – will be played as no-limit hold’em matches beginning on May 30th at 9.am local time with a buy-in fee of $75.

Running from June 26th till June 29th, a total of four satellites will begin at 7.pm local time with a $2,250 buy-in. Entry to the $50,000 Poker Players Championship on June 30th will be awarded on each of these running days.

To keep up to date with the latest WSOP news, events and stories, visit www.pokercheck.co.uk.